penitence #1

Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked shall I return. The Lord giveth, and the Lord taketh; blessed be the name of the Lord.

Job 1:21

One of my biggest peeves is when I take a task really seriously but everyone else on decides to fool around and not give a care. It’s disheartening, but perhaps this was some form of payback for all the times that I have been on the other side of the room, all the times I have not been serious enough when the situation called for it. All the disappointments I’ve caused others: my Lord and Saviour, my family, friends, fellow students or even random uninvolved passerbys who observed me let down the spirited endeavours of others. It was a timely paradigm shift that reminded me to appreciate those who perspire in their aspirations who, in their enduring, quiet ways inspired others such as myself.

Perhaps as well, I only feel such unhappy sentiments because I have been taking myself too seriously in some instances recently, and this was an overdue reminder of the ephemeral state of all things, from the large scale – the world that continues to decay daily to even the smallest things, like my unhappy sentiment which was roaring fiercely a mere hour ago, now already fading into neutrality and a slight curl on my lips. Evanescence.

We all go from dust to dust, but that does not mean life is without purpose. #YOLO isn’t necessarily wrong; at its root, the things it gets associated with ought to reflect the person’s perspective on what causes are worth fighting for, worth living for. Unfortunately, it has chiefly been used as a show of bravado, sometimes even as some form of Dutch Courage to do something ‘exciting’, that ultimately peters out as mere bluster and little more. It’s just a caricature now, and quite funny too. Huehuehue.

But we do actually only live once, so make it count.

Life goes on, until it doesn’t, but until then, it does, before it finally doesn’t; eventually it doesn’t, but for now it does, potato.

Leave a Reply

