the summer days

it was always summer where I lived.
sometimes, the heat can get unbearable,
why oh why, spring, did you have to leave?
nevertheless, I always found comfort in warmth so tangible.

a loud jolt from my mobile disrupts my nap,
tidings of nothing but the smallest, littlest, silliest things.
uncharacteristically, I wake with a spring in my step; t
hat season, I had wings.

but now winter rages over my hut;
where Summer exists only in the heart.
the Autumn I prayed for never came.
… and even now I feel the same.

Summer was the season where I grew,
Summer was the season where I learnt;
Summer was the brightest season of my life,
thank you for being the Summer of my youth.

i know, i lament;
but my heart is not ready to relent.

It’s still summer where I live.

One thought on “the summer days

Leave a Reply

